Making friends

Out early Sunday morning, peanuts in pocket. Beauteous, various robin songs everywhere, with occasional demented White-throated Sparrow songs punctuating the pleasant atmosphere. I’m enjoying the freedom of these chains.

A crow flew over and landed in a tall treemaybe it recognized me?and got a few of the four or five peanuts (with shells, unsalted) I tossed beneath it. It swooped down and gobbled them up after trying to gather them all up in its beak.

032220-1

As I walked around the block to soak in the scene, and put a letter in the mailbox, I gave a few peanuts to a couple of gray squirrels too. One was quite tiny.

I returned to the spot where I fed the crow, and another (or the same?) crow flew back in, so I tossed a few more beneath a tree.

032220-5

My thought while dressed so weirdly in cords, long black coat, black stocking cap with pom pon, and facemask: will this bird recognize me if I can ever shed my COVID gear?

Coda in answer: Yes. I’ve fed a few crows in this spot, and others since, wearing a less dark and elaborate getup, now that it’s warmed up further.

 

About stevesunusual

Just another Wordpress blogger.
This entry was posted in Wholly Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.